Introductions Are Hard

bookshelf

Welcome to That Worn Book Smell!

[Full disclosure: I thought about how to write this introductory post far longer than I care to admit. I tend to think introductory posts are always a little awkward and stilted. Probably because it’s an introduction—you (well, I) haven’t found your (my) footing yet, but I know I’ll get there soon.]

My name is Carolyn and I’m a recent college graduate who has wanted to blog about books for years. After studying English, creative writing, and journalism for four years, post-grad life left me with a longing (and the time) to talk about books. Thus this blog was born

Weird introduction aside, this is That Worn Book Smell, a book blog focused on book reviews, analytical essays, news, and columns. The blog will be a place for me to review the books I read, confess which ones I haven’t, and share my sometimes-overwhelming, always-obsessive love of literature with others. Mostly, this is a place for me to write about the books, writers, and industry I love.

As for the types of writing I’ll cover, it will be what interests me (which, honestly, is a little hard to pin down). Sometimes I truly enjoy genre-fiction; other times I strictly read literary fiction or memoirs. There are days when I only read personal essays or long-form journalism, and other days when I burn through 100 pages of a novel. My daily reading habits are eclectic and vast, and this blog will reflect that.  Sometimes I’ll post about a new essay in The New Yorker, or an experimental poem in a literary magazine, or the newest release from a Big Six (or indie) publisher, but I’ll always post my honest thoughts.

I hope you enjoy That Worn Book Smell and I’ll try to update as often as possible. If there’s anything you’d like to see on the blog or have questions, feel free to email me or leave me a comment!

-x
Carolyn

3 thoughts on “Introductions Are Hard

Leave a Reply

