What I’m Reading: A Clash of Kings

Game of ThronesFor the past couple of months, I’ve been reading George R R. Martin’s A Clash of Kings, the second book in his massively-popular A Song of Ice and Fire series (or more commonly known as the Game of Thrones series).

And when I say reading, I should probably put air quotes around “reading” because there hasn’t been much “reading” going on. A Clash of Kings has become the book I thumb through between my other novels. I’ll read ten or fifteen pages before starting another book.

It’s not that I don’t like it because I really do. Honestly, I think a big part of it is that the length intimidates me and it demands a serious commitment. This is not the kind of book you can casually read. The people and places and plots will get all jumbled in your head if you don’t focus, which is why it has taken me so long to read. It was the same with the first book, A Game ofThrones, which I greatly enjoyed, but read very, very slowly (something I’m not used to at all).

I’m writing this post because I made a promise to myself that I would finish A Clash of Kings (book # 2) and A Storm of Swords (book # 3) before the Game of Thrones season 4 premiere on April 6.

42 days. 1957 pages.

Some simple number-crunching shows that if I read 46.595 (okay, 47) pages every day then I will finish both books before the season 4 premiere.

Forty-seven pages a day doesn’t sound bad, but I know some days I’ll read more and other days I’ll read less. That’s just the way these things go.

I am going to try my hardest to complete both books, to read as much as possible when I can, to not juggle so many books, to focus focus f o c u s. It’s become a mini-challenge of mine. A competition against myself.

As the famous line goes, “When you play the Game of Thrones, you either win or you die.” I guess, for me, it will go, “when you read A Song of Fire and Ice, you either finish or get spoiled.”

So here’s to spending the next 43 days immersed in all things Game of Thrones and hopefully not getting spoiled come April 6.

*          *          *

What about you? Have you read the A Song of Fire and Ice series? Have you pledged to complete any book-related challenges? Did you complete them? Leave your answers in the comments!

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: A Clash of Kings

  1. patricksponaugle says:

    “when you read A Song of Fire and Ice, you either finish or get spoiled.”

    I’m stealing this line. I am SO stealing this line.

    If you need encouragement to keep reading, here it is: Go Go Go! Read Read Read! You Can Do It!

    (I’ve read them. I understand what you are saying, and you are right, they take commitment. But if my dad can read them, and he can’t pronounce any of the names in the book, you can too! You can!)

    Go Go Go! Read Read Read! WIN!

Leave a Reply

