The Last Book I Bought: Libra by Don Delillo

Libra

About a month ago, I was in the bookstore buying books for my boyfriend for Valentine’s Day.

(Side note: I can’t believe it’s been a month since I bought a book. I’ll have to change that very, very soon).

After paying for his gifts, I passed the “Bargain Cart” on the way out. I glanced quickly, as I usually do, but this time something caught my eye. A light yellow spine with thick, black text reading DON DELILLO      LIBRA.

It was fate. Not only had I just been talking with friends about wanting to read more Delillo, but I had been talking about reading this book in particular. I was ecstatic. I picked it up and noticed the price tag: $3.99. I was even more ecstatic.

Glancing at my mom, she already knew what I had to do. I walked proudly back to the cash register to buy Libra for myself. Not only had I stumbled across a book I had been meaning to read, but it was less than five dollars—could it get any better?

For those who don’t know, Libra is a fictional speculation of the events leading up to the assassination of John F. Kennedy. The novel’s main character is Lee Harvey Oswald whom the readers follow from childhood until that fateful day in Dallas.

Libra2

Not that it matters, but the book also turned out to be a first edition published in 1988 by Viking Penguin Inc. No doubt the first run was rather large, because Delillo was (is) a popular writer, but it’s still pretty cool to snag a first edition for next to nothing.

I’m looking forward to starting Libra. I’ve heard some really fantastic things about it, and now that I own a copy, it’s certainly moved up on my to-do list.

*                *                *

What’s the best bargain book you’ve found? Have you stumbled across any first editions? Leave your answers in the comments!

One thought on “The Last Book I Bought: Libra by Don Delillo

Leave a Reply

