Behind the Shelves: Personal Update

By Carolyn Quimby | @CarolynQuimby, @WornBookSmell

Hello That Worn Book Smell readers,

I know I have not been posting all that frequently, but fear not! I have not left you, I promise.

While we all dream of summer being a magical season where time slows and responsibilities evaporate in the heat, those who have entered the real world (aka post-grad) know that’s just not true. Summer is just like the rest of the year except your weekends are jam-packed with family parties, friend visits, and, if you’re lucky, soaking up every second of nice weather. Needless to say, this past weekend was the first one I’ve had since June without a single, solitary plan (other than cleaning my room).

MaddAddam Triology bozNow, just because I’ve been busy and posting has been scarce, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading and writing future posts. In fact, I’m nearly done with Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy, so expect a review (x3) when I finally finish it. I have a few more reviews, columns, and features coming your way, so look out. Also, I’ll be branching into guest reviews soon, but more on that in the near future.

Another thing I recently did that I know That Worn Book Smell readers will appreciate: I joined BuzzFeed’s Community and posted two bookish articles (that were featured on the BuzzFeed Books homepage two weeks ago). They’re those fancy listicles everyone is so crazy about these days. The first was “13 Times Twitter’s Literary Elite Got It Completely Right,” which gathers the coolest tweets from Twitter’s favorite authors including Teju Cole, Judy Blume, and Joyce Carol Oates. The second, which enjoyed a minor bit of virality, is “20 Perfect Etsy Gifts For Book Lovers In Your Life,” which is exactly what it sounds like: bookish, handmade gifts that you and your favorite bibliophiles must own.

buzzzzfeedNow that summer is winding down (though with a bang, not a whimper, I’m afraid), I’ll be focusing more on the blog. I’m going to be experimenting with post formats because I want to explore different ways of discussing books. If you have any ideas for what you’d like to see on the blog, let me know in the comments! No, really, I would greatly appreciate your feedback.

*     *      *

How has your summer been? Slow and relaxing or fast and hectic? Have you been reading anything good? Bad? So-so? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

