Behind the Shelves: A Year in Numbers

As I sit here on the day after Christmas, nursing what I believe to be a sinus infection, I’ve been calculating my reading and reading habits in terms of numbers. Over the last twelve months, I’ve read some really wonderful books and unfortunately not-so-wonderful ones. I read over 13,000 pages, listened to countless hours of audiobooks, read more new authors than old, and added nearly 30 books (physical and digital) to my already bursting bookshelves. It was really fun and illuminating to see my year of reading broken down this way and I could definitely see myself doing this every year. Anway, here’s my Year of Reading in Numbers:

2014 read31 Books Read*: 20 Fiction / 5 Nonfiction / 0 Poetry / 6Young Adult

*10 of which were audiobooks

*

Screen Shot 2014-12-23 at 1.30.56 PM62% of my 50 Book Challenge completed
*

2014 To Read71 books added to my Goodreads to-read list
*

Photo by Flickr User wiertz licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

Photo by Flickr User wiertz licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

13801 pages read (as of December 26th)
*

Photo by Flickr User wiertz licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

Photo by Flickr User jutta licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic.

20 New Authors Read
*

2014 Kindle2 books added to my Digital Bookshelf
*

2014 books1
26 of books added to my Physical Bookshelf

Including: The Secret HistoryIQ84A Visit from the Goon SquadLibraThe Bone ClocksThe SubmissionHer: A MemoirOne Souffle at a TimeThe Tiger’s WifeAmerican WifeBel CantoHarborBut Mama Always Put Vodka in her Sangria!Tiny Beautiful ThingsLeaving TimeEnder’s Game, The Birth of LoveThe Fight for HomeDear LupinLove AllYes PleaseThe World of Ice & Fire, Teaching My Mother How to Give BirthNever Have I EverMe Talk Pretty One Day, and The Pale King.
*

*       *       *
What did your year in numbers look like? How many books did you read this year? How many did you add to your bookshelves? Did you make a 2014 Goodreads Reading Challenge? Did you complete it?

 

3 thoughts on “Behind the Shelves: A Year in Numbers

Leave a Reply

