Top Ten Books On My Spring To-Be Read List

An original weekly feature by The Broke and the Bookish.

An original weekly feature by The Broke and the Bookish.

Spring is slowly making itself known here in New York. The sidewalks are free of snow, the trees are stretching their limbs, and the air smells like new possibilities. With the warmer weather comes a marked shift in my reading tastes. After all the snow and blistering cold, I’m ready for books that will warm me and transform me.

covers1
1. Unrequited: Women and Romantic Obsession, Lisa A. Phillips

Is it cheating if I already started this book? Spring starts in 3 days, so I won’t tell if you don’t. I’m barely 30 pages into this book and I already love it–the mix of research, history, anecdote, and memoir is refreshing at the start of spring. Also, Lisa Phillips was my former journalism professor and I couldn’t be more thrilled that Unrequited is being received so warmly in the world.

2. The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins

Because despite how badly I wanted to read it, I watched the pub date come and go like a train leaving the station without me on it. I’m more than ready to get to know The Girl on the Train.

3. Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell

I’m told I will fall in love with the characters; that I will weep; that I will renew my once undying love for young adult literature. Mostly, Eleanor & Park is about the bloom of first love and if that doesn’t scream spring I don’t know what does.

4. Bad Feminist, Roxane Gay

Because Roxane Gay is a rockstar and I have absolutely no reason to have not read this collection yet. I’m definitely going to be a Bad Feminist this spring.

5. Find Me, Laura van den Berg

It was on everyone’s March to-read list and I have heard nothing but great things about it. It’s not often that a book is equally praised for the complexity of its plot and the deftness of its prose. You’ll definitely find me reading Find Me this spring.

covers2
6. Dark Sparkler, Amber Tamblyn

Out in April, actress and apparently accomplished poet (colored me suprised/excited) Amber Tamblyn writes about 25 actresses who died well before there time. As the name suggests, the subjects may be dark and tragic but the words will shine. There’s nothing like a emotionally-charged poetry collection to make me excited for outdoor reading at lunchtime.

7. Visiting Hours: A Memoir of Friendship and Murder, Amy Butcher

This memoir (coming out this April) literally just arrived on my desk this afternoon and I was immediately struck by three things:

i. The cover is absolutely gorgeous.
ii. The memoir sounds devastatingly heartbreaking and compelling.
iii. This is absolutely not the light-hearted spring read I was looking for, but I am going to dive in immediately.

8. Matilda, Roald Dahl

I saw the Matilda on Broadway at the end of February (p.s. it was amazing) and it reignited my love for the story. It reminded me how much I loved Matilda and Matilda’s love for books. So, during a season of renewal and bloom, I will revisit one of my old favorites and see what it teaches me this time.

9. Relish, Lucy Knisley

Nearly two years ago, Chronogram, the magazine I used to intern at, profiled Lucy Knisley and her graphic memoir Relish. I have wanted to read it ever since. I love memoirs, graphic novels, and food-related writing, so this book is right up my alley. Plus the colors just scream spring!

10. Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf

Because it’s a classic and I love Virginia Woolf and I’ve never read it before.

*       *       *

What’s on your spring 2015 to-be read list? Are you rereading anything this spring? Do you have any books you’re anxiously awaiting to come out? Will you finally read your #1 TBR book? Is spring here yet?

Leave a Reply

