Behind the Shelves: A Very Bookish Birthday

I turned 24 on Thursday.

I’ve never been big on birthdays. In fact, for many years, I hated my birthday, but this year was different.

I actually had a really great birthday. It was a quiet one, but it was great. What I’ve realized this year more than any other is just how lucky I am to have such amazing people in my life. I also realized that my friends and family and boyfriend are more than willing to support and foster my love of books and reading–like I said, lucky. 
IMG_2167My aunt got my two of those stunning Barnes and Noble Collectible editions. As you can see above, they are F. Scott Fitzgerald’s This Side of Paradise and other Classic Works and Grimm’s Complete Fairytales. I haven’t read either and I am so excited to start them. Plus they are absolutely gorgeous. They have that vintage hardcover look and feel which I absolutely love.

She also got me that amazing “Go Away I’m Reading” sign. Because, well, it’s perfect.

IMG_2183My boyfriend got me this mug that I am already obsessed with. I’ve had my morning coffee and afternoon tea in this mug. It has quickly become my favorite mug, and I have many, many mugs. Along with books, I hoard mugs.

Anyway, I am a writer who one day hopes to write a book (ideally, a few books). I am also a writer who relies on her coffee. Thus, Carolyn + Coffee = Books. Plus look at that font. It’s so perfect.

IMG_2193He also got me an adorable necklace with an open book charm and a stamped “C,” my initial. It’s dainty and sits right at the hollow of my neck and I love it.

But the gift that surprised me and excited me the most of The Book Lover’s Journal, which is so wonderful. The journals table of contents includes My Book Log, Books I’d Like to Read, My Books (Books bought, borrowed, lent and given), Book Group Info, Acclaimed Authors and Books, and My Reading Life.

It’s so nifty and the perfect size to toss in my bag. I’ve been looking for something to record my reading in (aside from Goodreads. Follow me!). I love journals and I love journals that let me gush about books even more. Plus this will make writing reviews even easier–so you all will benefit as well. Kidding. Kind of.

I promise to do a full review when I have explored the journal more in depth.

IMG_2199

My boyfriend and I spent the last hour of my first day as a 24-year-old reading through the lists in the back of the journal. We declared which classics we had or had not read, exploring the holes in our literary history. Fun fact: I have not read a surprising amount of famous “must read” books.

I could not have dreamed of a more perfect end to my very bookish birthday.

One thought on “Behind the Shelves: A Very Bookish Birthday

  1. KasimsKorner says:

    Sounds like an incredible birthday! Happy birthday! (probably a bit late). That mug is definitely on my to-buy list now haha. With your username, I’m very curious on your thoughts on ebooks. I’ve followed, I’m a writer myself, and if you have the time I’d love for you to check out my small blog. Atm its mainly short stories and a bit of poetry, but I’m working on a novel (Prologue is on my blog). Feel free to check it out on http://www.kasimskorner.com , keep blogging and have a good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

