If We Were Having Coffee…

unnamed

One of my favorite bloggers The Perpetual Page-Turner writes a sporadic column/series titled “If We Were Having Coffee” where she details what’s going on in her life as if we were sharing our stories over coffee. I’ve loved the idea from afar for so long that I decided to try my hand at it. To give you a glimpse of who I am when I’m blogging–or, more recently, when I’m not.

If We Were Having Coffee, I would tell you that life has certainly calmed down a lot since June–when I gave you an update on my first hiatus. There was a lot of family stuff going on that was time-consuming and frankly more important than just about everything else. This summer was really hard and I am so glad to say goodbye to it.

If We Were Having Coffee, I would tell you I actually do feel guilty for my lack of posts; for the cobwebs gathering in the corners of this blog; for once again letting this part of my life be put on the back burner. I’m going to try my hardest to change that.

If We Were Having Coffee, I would tell you that I’m having a very strong urge buy more books. And big books. Like anthology books. When I really need to be pairing down how many I already have in my room. The bookshelves are full and there are piles of books teetering all over. I’d tell you that this girl feels safer when surrounded by her books, feels calmed by the chaos of new and worn book spines.

If We Were Having Coffee, I would tell you that this weekend was lovely in its simplicity and domesticity: cooking, cleaning, burning fall candles, running a few miles, eating burritos, and spending time with my nanny, best friends, and boyfriend. There is something beautiful in regrouping.

If We Were Having Coffee, I would tell you that I am so much happier now that it’s fall. Everything about the perpetually too-short season makes me excited about life: the clothes, the colors, the weather, the scents, the food, the drinks, the crunch of leaves under boots.

If We Were Having Coffee, I would tell you that I read a book recently that affected me in ways I still haven’t fulled sorted out. It’s the first time in a long time that I’ve thought “I wish I had written this.” Until I can write a review that gives this beautiful book justice, I’ll leave you with it’s name (Dept. of Speculation) and this simple advice: read it.

*

If we were having coffee, what would you tell me? leave your answers in the comments!

2 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

  1. Allie says:

    If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I’m embarrassed at how many books I’ve started but not finished and how little time I make for reading as of late.

    If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I’m so excited for fall, big sweaters, more time for books and lighting candles.

    If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I want to get a book journal or space to keep my thoughts on all the books I’m reading.

    • That Worn Book Smell says:

      I cannot even tell you how many books have been left unfinished this year — I think it’s our restlessness manifesting in our reading habits!

      And I completely recommend a journal/blog/space to record your thoughts about the books your reading. I haven’t been doing it as much as I would like, but it’s always so rewarding when I make the time.

Leave a Reply

