The Best Books of 2016 (That I’ll Read in 2017)

christmas-lights

Another year, another list of books that I didn’t get to read this year. This year, more than most, often felt like a struggled reading-wise. Especially the last three or four months. Case in point: from October through December, I only read two books. Two books in three months – an all-time low for me. There’s a lot of factors – personal, political, and everything in between – but I’m feeling confident that my reading slump is over.

Along with my obsessive internet reading, I  read the New York Times Book Review every Sunday. I began jotting down books I wanted to read and I boiled them down to the ten books I most want to read in 2017.

There were certainly more than 10 books published this year that I want to read but these were the ones I always found myself gravitated to, the ones I sought out in bookstores and online, but never bought (or borrowed). Here are the 10 best books of 2016 that I’ll read in 2017.

  1. Sex Object by Jessica Valenti
  2. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
  3. The Mothers by Brit Bennett
  4. Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
  5. Shrill by Lindy West
  6. All the Single Ladies by Rebecca Traister
  7. The Vegetarian by Han Kang
  8. Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong
  9. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
  10. Moonglow by Michael Chabon

As always, I’m participating in Goodread’s Reading Challenge as I have since 2011 (without ever “winning,” I may add). I fully expect to read most, if not all, of these books in the new year.

Happy New Year! May it be filled with books, reading, and anything else you may desire!

One thought on “The Best Books of 2016 (That I’ll Read in 2017)

  1. Allie says:

    I’m with you on the reading slump of 2016. Most of the books that I “read,” towards the end of the year were on Audible (including When Breath Becomes Air!). Looking forward to a new year and more consistent reading!

Leave a Reply

