Fresh Ink (5/30/17)

All the links you need to see before the fresh ink dries. 

I’m bringing back an old column and revamping it a bit. Rather than this being strictly publishing and book news, this series will also include essays and articles I’ve read in the past week.

22 Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer | BuzzFeed Books

This is a pretty great roundup of books coming out over the next couple of months. Some of which I had heard of – have even been patiently (or not-so patiently) waiting to read – and others I never had. Roxane Gay’s Hunger made the list which made me extremely happy since it’s my most anticipated book of the year!

Bonus: There’s a quiz based on the article called “What New Book Should You Read This Summer?”If you’re like me and want to read everything on this list, this quiz will help you choose your first!

FullSizeRender (8)

Just a few of my half-filled, fully-loved journals.

A Gift to the Future: In Defense of Keeping a Journal | The Millions

I’m a little embarrassed to admit how many times I “mhmme’d” while reading this. For someone who loves to write, I have always had a very tumultuous relationship with journaling. I’m either on or off; journaling obsessively or not at all. I think part of that comes with my own romanticizing and fetishizing the idea of being a writer who keeps a journal. This essay perfectly captures what it’s like to have a fraught relationship with journals. See here:

In fact, even when it is disorderly, a journal is a celebration of order. Keeping a notebook is a little like keeping a home . . . The work is tangible yet infinite. I take less satisfaction in dealing with my apartment than my notebook, but I occupy them in similar ways: distractedly, messily, but with rare bursts of affection, even cautious love. I think I even understand the romantic logic of the hoarder: there’s stuff in every corner, and some of it could be precious.

FullSizeRender (10)

Summer Reading Recommendations, From 6 Novelists Who Own Bookstores | The New York Times

As someone who not-so-secretly would love to own a bookstore, this piece in the New York Times this weekend delighted me. While the book recommendations were great, I was really interested in seeing six authors who have bookstores of their very own. (Did you know Judy Blume owns a bookstore? How cool is that?!). It’s also a great little write up of Emma Straub’s new Brooklyn bookshop, Books Are Magic. Could that name be any more true? I think not.

*         *          *

What have you read this week? Any articles, essays, or news stories that I have to check out? Let me know before the ink dries! 

Leave a Reply

