Fresh Ink (6/6/17)

All the links you need to see before the fresh ink dries. 

June Preview: The Millions Most Anticipated (This Month) | The Millions

If you are like me, you love The Millions. If you don’t love The Millions yet, you will. If read The Millions and don’t it, don’t talk to me (just kidding). They always have great preview posts – especially at the beginning of the year – so it felt important to highlight their June preview as the month ramps up. It features some established writers like Roxane Gay and Ann Beattie, as well as debut novelists like Omar Robert Hamilton. It’s a diverse list with enough title to get you through June and then some. Let the summer reading commence!

1915753_0c69937364_z.jpg

Photo by Flickr User Francois Jordaan licensed under Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0).

Real Life Places Made More Special By Books | Book Riot

I love this little round-up by Book Riot where contributors share the real places that have been made more impressive by books they’ve read. As much as I love created worlds, it’s always lovely when books are grounded in real places you can explore. This list includes Pittsburgh, The Stanley Hotel, a house in Spring Green, Wisconsin, Providence, R.I., and King’s Cross (which you can see in the photo to the left). I’m a sucker for real life/book crossovers. In fact, it’s been a long time dream of mine to do a bookish road trip where I seek out the places from my favorite novels. Maybe one day I’ll get to do it – and I’ll add a few of these to the list!

 

 

DS.jpg

You Can’t Be a Snob with Bad Teeth: Talking with David Sedaris | The Rumpus

David Sedaris is an extremely smart, funny, and prolific writer, and The Rumpus manages to capture all of his charm and then some in their recent interview. Sedaris is doing press for his newest book, Theft By Finding, which a book of his diary entires from 1997-2002. I love reading diaries because of how personal they are, and for someone like Sedaris, who is already very personal in his writing, it offers an even further unedited, unvarnished vision.

The interview was a nice glimpse into the life of a man who typically lays his life bare in his books.  I especially liked the bit about how he tries to be as kind as possible to people at his book signings: “I remember what it’s like to be in the audience. I would go to book signings and I remember how it felt to stand in line. How it felt to think of something to say to someone you admired so much . . . . But what is so hard about sitting there while people tell you how much they love you? And if you don’t like it, well, learn to like it. I try to take one person at a time. I never look down the line to see how many more people are left. And I always try to make people talk about something besides whatever they planned to say.”

*         *          *

What have you read this week? Any articles, essays, or news stories that I have to check out? Let me know before the ink dries! 

Leave a Reply

