Behind the Shelves: My Dream Reading Space

I was chatting with my friends over at Arhaus and I felt inspired to create a blog post about my dream reading space. What book lover among us has not dreamed – at length – about a home library? Or the absolute perfect space to curl up with piles and piles of books at length?

Personally, I’ve been dreaming about my book nook for as long as I can remember. Probably as long as I’ve been reading. The “look” has changed over the years but the concept never has. I’ve always wanted a place for just me and my books.

My favorite Disney movie has always been Beauty and the Beast, and I think a large part of that is Belle and her love of books. I would stare awestruck as she used the ladder to move deftly around the bookstore, and I practically cried at the thought of having the Beast’s library at my disposal. There is something magical about having a space for your books—one that feels comfy, cozy, and absolutely your own.

 

chari.jpegThis reading chair. Because, oh my god, that pattern left me looking like the heart-eye emoji.

Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 9.46.11 AM.png
This sectional sofa. See that long portion on the right? You can find me lounging there with a book for the rest of my life. Honestly, all of their sectionals look dreamy and super comfortable.

bookshelf.jpeg

Can we talk about this amazing bookshelf? I will need at least three (okay, maybe four) of them for mine and my boyfriend’s books. I’ve yet to meet a bookshelf I didn’t like but I’ve also never met one I like as much as this one. (Side note: the ladder would definitely help me unleash my inner Belle).

 

I’ve always wanted an accent wall in my dream reading space. I am absolutely drooling over both of these prints: one and two. Just stunning.

rug.jpegMy reading space would ideally have hardwood floors which means it would need a rug, and I found the perfect one. It’s simple yet it makes a statement.

coffeetable2.jpgI love this simple marble/wood coffee table. Maybe some people are over the marble trend but I certainly am not. It’s just so clean and sleek.

Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 1.35.05 PM.pngObviously, I will need this tray to put on top of the coffee table to plop all the books I’m currently reading. I mean can you please look at those twig handles? Perfection.

endtable.jpg
These funky end tables would be the perfect place to put my coffee, tea, seltzer, or any of the 50 drinks I tend to hoard during a reading binge.

planter.jpgPlants would be essential in my dream reading space and this planter is just too cute. I would probably have more than one (okay, definitely more than one).
Screen Shot 2017-07-25 at 4.13.47 PM.png

I already know that this lamp will provide a perfect spotlight on my reading — though they have so many lamps I could have chosen from. And this aptly named “Bell Jar Table Lamp” will be perfect on my hexagon end table.

 


This adorable basket to hold all my blankets. I tend to read under a fuzzy blanket even in the summer. Speaking of: I’d love to have this blanket (and probably this throw too).

 

Candles. So many candles. No, seriously, all of the candles.

Last, but not least (never least), books. Hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of books. In my dream library, I have so many books and I have time to read them all and then some. Though having that kind of time is another dream entirely.

*                 *                 *

What would you put in your dream reading space? How often do you think of your own? Or do you already have your dream book nook? If so, describe it below!

Photo by Flickr User Stephanie Overton licensed under Attribution-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-ND 2.0).

One thought on “Behind the Shelves: My Dream Reading Space

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    This is just every bookworm’s dream, isn’t it? I’ve been together with my boyfriend for about a year and a half now, but, really? Pretty sure he knows perfectly what kind of reading nook I want. God, I just simply said I’m claiming a whole room as soon as we’ve bought our own house [in the far future, haha].
    I simply want a room that feels like an old study / library, with a cozy armchair, couch. Walls completely lined with bookcases [and filled with books, doh]. One of those old desks so I have my zen-spot to write my reviews and do other computer/blogging-stuff.
    My, I’m already losing myself in a daydream already, haha!

Leave a Reply

